Experimental Writing

Hold on everyone, the Kansas Writers Associate contest is coming up and I will actually be submitting two short stories.  This, in and of itself, is essentially a simple thing.  As a writer, it is imperative that you let the kids out of the house.  In that light, submitting a short story is one of my ways of sending the kids out into the world.

BUT!

One of the short stories is extremely experimental.  “Line Jumping” will be written in second person and using Dramatica theory (I’ll go into that in other posts).  Dramatica can be used in short stories and, in many ways, is somewhat easier in that shortened format.  The thing that makes me nervous is writing in second person perspective.

Dramatica depends on the proper use of the Grand Argument to create a compelling story for the reader.  If the story is written in second person and not handled correctly, the Grand Argument will lost in disbelief and the reader will quickly dismiss the entire premise.  Why?  Simple.  Because, “No way would I do/say that!”

Ergo, it will be critical for me to finish this short story in a generalized manner that doesn’t read like a generalized book.  I have to give the reader enough wiggle room for them to think to themselves, “Yeah, I would react that way,” while still moving the story in the direction of answering the Grand Argument.

Since this is my first WordPress post, I will keep it short.  Next week I will be discussing Dramatica Theory in more detail.

About Webgoji

I am a member of the Kansas Writers Association and Wichita Writers Guild. I have successfully completed National Novel Writing Month and have completed 3 different novels. My first novel "The Fay Dragon Chronicles" unfortunately wasn't published, but I am currently trying to get my second book "The Seraphim Protocol" published. View all posts by Webgoji

One response to “Experimental Writing

  • H.B. Berlow

    Just like a good cliffhanger, you identify Dramatica and then keep us asking for more. Well? Just kidding. I know that it can be difficult to explain theories of any nature but I’m sure you will do a great job.

Leave a Reply

